Cotton University prepares for the first-ever Alumni meet of the Department of Mathematics
Cotton University students and former students during the meeting on Monday

Guwahati: The preparations for hosting the first alumni meet of the Department of Mathematics of Cotton University, a premier higher educational institution in the Northeastern region, were discussed during a general meeting on Monday.  

The meeting was held in the university auditorium and was chaired by Professor Dipak Sharma, Head of Mathematics Department, Cotton University.

Professor Dipak Sharma, president of the organising committee for the event, expressed his desire for the active participation of former students during the alumni meet that is scheduled to be held in August this year.

This alumni meet will provide an opportunity for both the former as well as the current students to establish a strong bonding with the department. The event aims to celebrate the reunion of former students of the 122-year-old Mathematics Department, known for its undergraduate, postgraduate, and research (Ph.D.) programs.

Professor Sharma said, “The alumni meet has been organised with the aim of connecting all former students with the department since its establishment in 1901. We hope that this alumni meet will inspire and motivate the current students to remain connected with the department throughout their lives. We are also making preparations to organise various events alongside the alumni meet.”

Around 100 former and current students of Cotton University were present at meeting.

Dear Reader,
Over the past four years, EastMojo revolutionised the coverage of Northeast India through our sharp, impactful, and unbiased overage. And we are not saying this: you, our readers, say so about us. Thanks to you, we have become Northeast India’s largest, independent, multimedia digital news platform.
Now, we need your help to sustain what you started.
We are fiercely protective of our ‘independent’ status and would like to remain so: it helps us provide quality journalism free from biases and agendas. From travelling to the remotest regions to cover various issues to paying local reporters honest wages to encourage them, we spend our money on where it matters.
Now, we seek your support in remaining truly independent, unbiased, and objective. We want to show the world that it is possible to cover issues that matter to the people without asking for corporate and/or government support. We can do it without them; we cannot do it without you.
Support independent journalism, subscribe to EastMojo.

Thank you,
Karma Paljor

While Professor Dipak Sharma has been given the responsibility of the President, Dr Hiren Deka is the General Secretary, Dr Anjana Bhattacharya (Head of the Department of Mathematics at B.Borooah College) and Dr Rupam Barman (Associate Professor at IIT Guwahati) are the vice presidents of the organising committee.

For registration of membership, the organising committee for the alumni meet requested interested persons to contact A Google Form for membership registration has also been circulated for convenience.

Also Read | Youth Cong chief Srinivas appears before Guwahati Police over sexual harassment case

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment