Guwahati: Polling across all the 203 voting booths in the by-election to 99-Majuli (ST) Legislative Assembly Constituency was conducted peacefully with an estimated voter turnout of 65.16 percent registered till 5pm on Monday.

According to official sources no untoward incident was reported from any part of the constituency during the voting process till evening.

Long queues were witnessed across all the polling booths in the river island as voters, young, middle-aged and old, turned up to vote from early in the morning amid strict COVID protocols.

Lauding the support extended by the people of the river island, Assam chief electoral officer (CEO) Nitin Khade thanked all the voters, polling officials, staff and the stakeholders who participated in the democratic exercise.

“The team effort of everyone is much appreciated. All safety protocols on COVID-19 were maintained,” Khade said.

The CEO further said that adequate security measures have been put in place to maintain strict vigil for the safety, security and sanctity of the strong room where all the polled electronic voting machines (EVMs) would be stored till the process of counting is successfully concluded on March 10.

An estimated electorate of 1,33, 227 general electors were eligible to exercise their franchise in the by elections. Of these, 67,819 are male voters and 65,408 are female voters.

Webcasting facilities were arranged in all the 203 polling stations of the constituency to ensure a free, fair and safe by-election. The poll proceedings were monitored live by ECI, CEO Assam as well as the district election officer and other concerned officials on duty.

An encouraging aspect of the bypoll was the active participation of divyaang (persons with disability) voters.

Altogether, 400 divyaang electors were eligible to exercise their franchise.

Free transportation facilities to and from polling stations were made available to the PwD voters through the Divyaang Sarathi Nirvachan App which was reactivated recently by the CEO Assam to make the by-poll accessible and all-inclusive.

The bypoll was necessitated after former chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal vacated the seat last year.

The candidates vying for votes are ruling BJP candidate, Bhuban Gam; Opposition’s ‘consensus’ nominee, Chittaranjan Basumatary of Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) and Bhaity Richong of the SUCI(C).

Also read | 30 of 36 disputed villages along Assam border to remain in Meghalaya: CM

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment