The District Magistrate of Assam’s Jorhat District, Ashok Kumar Barman, has prohibited the visit MPs – Gaurav Gogoi, Jitendra Singh, Ajoy Kumar and Anto Antony beyond Jorhat amid tensions in Nagaland, under section 144 (2) of the CrPC.

Gaurav Gogoi took to Twitter sharing images of the MPs’ protest from outside the Jorhat airport against the restriction. “Protesting against the illegal detention of Congress delegation at Jorhat and preventing us from travelling to Mon district in Nagaland to meet the families of the victims,” tweeted the Congress MP.

The delegation of the four MPs was headed from Delhi towards Mon to visit families of the deceased via Kolkata and Jorhat on Wednesday when the order was issued by the district magistrate.

“In view of prevailing Law & Order situation in Mon and other bordering districts arising out of the recent incident in Mon district, in the state of Nagaland, the movement of civilians and others from Assam side to Mon district is restricted by the government of Nagaland,” said the order.

“I am satisfied that there are sufficient grounds to prohibit their further movement considering the present sensitive situation at Assam Nagaland border areas and apprehension of breach of peace and tranquillity in the border areas of Jorhat district,” the district magistrate ruled.

The order also stated that they would be granted express permission to the delegation if permission for the same was given by the government of Nagaland.

Also read: Old head hunting days may make a comeback: Oting residents on Nagaland killing

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply