Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Wednesday, May 26 appointed 13 ‘Guardian Ministers’ for 34 districts of the state. The development comes after a cabinet meeting held earlier today.

The ‘Guardian Ministers’ will be entrusted with administrative roles and responsibilities of their assigned districts. They will also oversee the implementation of various government policies, decision, administrative reforms and welfare schemes for the public and submit a report to the chief minister. The report will include details such as obstacle faced in the implementation of schemes and policies required to eradicate such obstacles.

The assigned ministers will also prepare a plan for infrastructure development in their respective districts and identify resources for employment generation. Moreover, a monthly/bimonthly visit to the district headquarters along with special visits during emergencies has been made mandatory for the ministers.

Also read: Assam govt creates Welfare of Bodoland Department

The appointed ‘Guardian Ministers’ are:

  • Ranjit Kumar Dass – Bongaigaon, Dhubri, Barpeta
  • Atul Bora – Dibrugarh, Tinsukia
  • Urkhao Gwra Brahma – Baksa, Chirang
  • Chandra Mohan Patowary – Darrang, Kamrup, Kamrup(M)
  • Parimal Suklabaidya – Karimganj, Hailakandi, Hojai
  • Kesab Mahanta – Golaghat, Morigaon
  • Ranuj Pegu – Jorhat, Sivasagar
  • Ashok Snghal – Kokrajhar, Udalguri, Cachar
  • Jogen Mohan – West Karbi Anglong, KarbiAnglong, Dima Hasao
  • Sanjay Kishan – Dhemaji, North Lakhimpur
  • Ajanta Neog – Nalbari, Goalpara, South Salmara
  • Pijush Hazarika – Nagaon, Sonitpur, Biswanath
  • Bimal Bora – Majuli, Charaideo, Bajali

Leave a comment

Leave a comment