In a moment of great pride for Assam, the state cycling team won five medals at the National Track Cycling Championships held between March 27 and March 31 at Hyderabad, Telangana.

This was the first-ever Indian National Championship to be recognised by the UCI and was listed in the UCI World Track Cycling Calendar.

Chayanika Gogoi, Gangutri Bordoloi, Brishti Konkona Gogoi and Joyshree Gogoi won two golds, two silvers and one bronze at the events.

Chayanika Gogoi won the 2 km junior Individual Pursuit, while Gangutri Bordoloi won the 10 km Point Race. Chayanika also won the silver in the 6 km scratch race.

Chayanika Gogoi

Also read: Pedal Power: Meet 4 Guwahati women promoting cycling – Part 3

Chayanika Gogoi, Gangutri Bordoloi, Joyshree Gogoi and Brishti Konkona Gogoi won the silver medal in the senior team pursuit.

Gangutri Bordoloi also won the bronze in the 2 km Individual Pursuit event.

Gangutri Bordoloi

Also read: Pedal Power: Meet 4 Guwahati women promoting cycling

During the championship, Chayanika Gogoi created a national record in the 2 km junior Individual Pursuit category with a timing of 2:43:13 minutes.

The National Track Cycling Championship held at Hyderabad witnessed eight new national records being set in the Senior, Junior and Sub-Junior category.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply