AJP has announced 18 candidates for 1st phase of elections in Assam

The newly-formed regional party, Assam Jatiya Parishad, on Friday, announced its list of candidates for the first phase of the Assam Assembly elections scheduled on March 27.

Former AASU leader and party president Lurinjyoti Gogoi will contest from the Duliajan constituency, while AJP general secretary Jagadish Bhuyan will contest from Sadia. A total of 18 candidates were announced for the first phase of the elections.

Also read: AJP ties up with Raijor Dal for Assam assembly polls

The rest of the candidates and their contesting constituencies are Raju Phukan from Sarupathar, Chittaranjan Basumatary from Dhemaji, Pawan Saikia from Khumtai, Shatrughna Sasoni from Dhekiajuli, Ajay Tanti from Rangapara, Anjar Hussain from Dhing, Arup Kumar Saikia from Batradava, Ananda Chandra Das from Dergaon, Ribulaya Gogoi from Nazira, Dipen Tanti from Thaora, Achyut Saikia from Bihpuria, Ajit Buragohain from Dibrugarh, Rajiv Kunar Hazarika from Mariani, Samsher Singh from Tinsukia, Satyajit Regon from Dhakuakhana, and Sanjay Kumar Deb from Margherita.

While addressing the media, the AJP general secretary informed that the party will be announcing more candidates for the upcoming Assam Assembly elections in the upcoming days.

Subscribe to EastMojo

Enter your email address to receive notifications of new stories by email.

Join 159,190 other subscribers

Leave a comment

Leave a comment