Credit: File image

As many as 11 sitting MLAs have been denied tickets as the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party announced a list of 70 candidates for the upcoming Assembly Polls on Friday. 

Senior Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma will once again contest from Jalukbari constituency.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal will contest from Majuli, the river island in Upper Assam, which he currently represents in the Assembly.

Also read: Assam 2021: BJP, allies finalise sharing of 86 out of 126 seats

State Party President Ranjeet Kumar Dass will contest from Patacharkuchi instead of Sorbhog, from where he won the last time.

The possibility of the Congress-led grand alliance performing well in Sorbhog forced the BJP state president to change his constituency, sources said. 

Binod Hazarika, the MLA from Chabua, will contest the elections from Lahowal. The tea town of Chabua in Upper Assam saw widespread violence during the anti-CAA protests. 

BJP has fielded Jitu Goswami from Barhampur in central Assam, the seat represented by Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, senior AGP leader and former chief minister. 

Mahanta’s faction of the AGP revived the AGP-P, which was formed in 2005. AGP-P representatives and Congress leaders have told the media that they are in touch. 

BJP General Secretary Arun Singh said the AGP will contest 26 seats and the UPPL will be fielding candidates on eight seats as part of the alliance. 

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Join the Conversation


Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply