Waterways to boost connectivity and integration: Sonowal
Sarbananda Sonowal

Taking a strong note of the Assam government’s order for transfer of 12 IPS and 6 APS officers on Friday, the Election Commission (EC) on Saturday decided to keep the transfer and posting of these police officers in abeyance until further orders.

The Commission took the decision following the announcement of the Assembly election dates for four states, including Assam, and one Union Territory on Friday, which also kicked in “provisions of Model Code of Conduct with immediate effect.”

“The Commission vide its press note dated 26th February 2021, had announced the schedule of General Elections to Legislative Assemblies of Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Puducherry. With this announcement, the provisions of Model Code of Conduct have come into force with immediate effect, which includes total ban on the transfers and postings of all officers connected with conduct of elections,” the Commission said.

Also read: Assam BJP leader arrested in Tinsukia for assaulting cop

It has come to the notice of Commission that the Assam government on February 26 2021 ordered the transfer of 12 IPS and 6 APS officers, EC said in its notification.

“The Commission has therefore decided to keep the transfer/posting of these police officers in abeyance till further orders,” the EC added in the notification.

According to Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, the election to the 126 seats of Assam Assembly will take place in three phases.

In the first phase of polls to be held on March 27, a total of 47 Assembly constituencies will go to the polls.

The second phase will be held on April 1 in 39 Assembly constituencies.

In the third and final phase on April 6, a total of 40 Assembly constituencies will go to election in Assam.

The results will be declared on May 2.

Also read: RJD will contest Assam Assembly polls: Tejashwi Yadav

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply