Assam boxer Lovlina Borgohain
Assam boxer Lovlina Borgohain|File image

Boxer Lovlina Borgohain becomes 6th from Assam to receive Arjuna Award

Earlier, Bhogeswar Barua, Monalisa Baruah, Jayanta Talukdar, Shiva Thapa, Hima Das from state received the prestigious award

Abdul Wadood

Abdul Wadood

Guwahati: Assam boxer Lovlina Borgohain, who has been qualified for the Tokyo Olympics, has once again brought laurels to the state as she became the sixth person from Assam to be selected for the coveted Arjuna Award.

The ace pugilist from Assam was able to make it to the final list of the winners of the National Sports Awards 2020 which was released by the Union ministry of youth affairs and sports on August 21, courtesy of some outstanding performance inside the ring.

‘It is an honour to be recognized with the prestigious Arjuna Award. I would like to thank @IndiaSports @Media_SAI @BFI_official all my coaches, teammates, family and friends who have supported me along this journey,” Borgohain tweeted, expressing her happiness and gratitude on receiving the award.

Chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal also took to Twitter to laud the achievement of the Assam boxer. “Congratulations to ace boxer @LovlinaBorgohai for the Arjuna Award 2020 . This is a moment of pride for India as well as for Assam as she is the only WC medalist women athlete from Assam and her achievements will serve as great inspiration for our youths to pursue their dreams,” Sonowal wrote.

The awards function will be held virtually on August 29, on National Sports Day, instead of Rashtrapati Bhavan, this year due to the pandemic across the country.

Currently, Lovlina is a part of the national camp at Patiala which she joined recently, after spending almost four months at her Golaghat residence, due to the COVID-19 forced lockdown.

Borgohain, who has qualified for the Tokyo Olympics, is the first woman from Assam to qualify for the Olympics and the second boxer from the state to represent the country after Shiva Thapa.

Earlier, Bhogeswar Barua (1966 athletics), Monalisa Baruah (1987 TT), Jayanta Talukdar (2006 archery), Shiva Thapa (2016 Boxing), Hima Das (2018, athletics) were the other sportspersons from Assam to receive the prestigious award.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.