APCC president Ripun Bora announced the new appointments on Friday
APCC president Ripun Bora announced the new appointments on Friday|File image

Ahead of RS polls, Assam Cong names new VP, 4 general secretaries

Salmara South MLA Wazed Ali Choudhury appointed new Assam Pradesh Congress Committee vice-president, 4 others named general secretaries; to take charge immediately

Team EastMojo

Team EastMojo

Guwahati: Ahead of Rajya Sabha elections in the state, Indian National Congress has appointed lawmaker Wazed Ali Choudhury as Assam Pradesh Congress Committee vice-president.

Choudhury is the MLA from Salmara South constituency.

According to reports, apart from Choudhury, APCC president Ripun Bora appointed four new general secretaries: Marian MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi, Sarupathar MLA Roselina Tirkey, Goalpara East MLA AK Rasheed Alam and Sarukhetri MLA Jakir Hussain Sikdar.

The office bearers have been requested to take charge effective immediately and the allocation of work will be notified separately to each of them.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.