AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal
AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal|File Image

Assam: AIUDF to contest only 3 Lok Sabha seats

Decision taken in order to prevent split of minority votes, announces party chief Badruddin Ajmal

Team EastMojo

Team EastMojo

Guwahati: The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) on Monday announced that it will contest from only three of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam in order to prevent a division of the secular votes.

Although the AIUDF had earlier declared that it will contest in eight seats, the party will now settle for only three -- Dhubri, Barpeta and Karimganj -- where it had won in the 2014 Lok Sabha election as well.

Party chief Badruddin Ajmal announced that the decision was taken in order to prevent the split of minority votes/anti-BJP votes. The BJP, by bringing in the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, has failed the people of Assam, he added.

However, the party clarified that it has no understanding with the Congress, as has been widely speculated. AIUDF general secretary Aminul Islam was quoted as saying by media reports: “In fact, the Congress is our main opponent in the three seats we have decided to contest from.”

The party has retained sitting MP and party chief Badruddin Ajmal from Dhubri, and MP Radheshyam Biswas from Karimganj. On the other hand, Hafiz Rafikul Islam has replaced incumbent MP Sirajuddin Ajmal in Barpeta.

Earlier, BJP general secretary Ram Madhav had alleged that the AIUDF and Congress are having a “secret understanding”, claiming that they were helping each other to polarise votes. However, the saffron party will bring them down, Madhav had said.

For more such stories, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. Activate Website Notifications to stay updated.